Daily Prompt: The Guilt that Haunts Me

Daily Prompt: The Guilt that Haunts Me

Share a time when you were overcome with guilt. What were the circumstances? How did you overcome you guilt?

I could not exactly remember a particular situation but i do experience guilt when i upset people or cause them to miss out on something good because of my decision.

I do feel guilty easily, i take on more guilt then i should. It is normal for me to feel guilty when i do something wrong but i do not think it is normal when i start feeling guilty for the mistakes of others.

Maybe it is partly due to my INFJ nature where i detest conflict a lot although i can face them and solve them. But the process is a torture for me emotionally as i will be thinking of all the different scenarios that the conflict could turn out and what are the approaches i should do to end it well. I am very sensitive to the atmosphere and sometimes i hate this sensitivity. I can know if the atmosphere is good or bad or whether the person is feeling happy or sad without talking. And so if arguments happen, even if i am not involved, i can feel the same angst feelings of how the involved parties feel too.

Take one example:

My dad and my sister got into a conflict and my sister is wrong in the first place. She will feel guilty but i will feel guilty as well. I will be feeling partly responsible for not guiding her well and therefore she makes the mistake.

I know logically that it is not entirely my fault or not even my fault to begin with but i just feel guilty.

Another reason may be that i just love to be in control even in situations that is not within my control.

So how do i get over this guilt?

I have to practice the art of letting go and let God be God. Not everything can be controlled and as long as i do my best, everything will be fine.

Leave a Reply

